Bücher Wenner
Julia Karnick liest aus "Man sieht sich"
22.08.2024 um 19:30 Uhr
Yellowface
A Novel
von R. F. Kuang
Verlag: Harper Collins Publ. USA
Taschenbuch
ISBN: 978-0-06-332317-9
Auflage: Internationale Ausgabe (US)
Erschienen am 16.05.2023
Sprache: Englisch
Format: 231 mm [H] x 156 mm [B] x 30 mm [T]
Gewicht: 365 Gramm
Umfang: 323 Seiten

Preis: 15,50 €
keine Versandkosten (Inland)


Bei uns vorrätig (3. Obergeschoss)

Der Versand innerhalb der Stadt erfolgt in Regel am gleichen Tag.
Der Versand nach außerhalb dauert mit Post/DHL meistens 1-2 Tage.

15,50 €
merken
klimaneutral
Der Verlag produziert nach eigener Angabe noch nicht klimaneutral bzw. kompensiert die CO2-Emissionen aus der Produktion nicht. Daher übernehmen wir diese Kompensation durch finanzielle Förderung entsprechender Projekte. Mehr Details finden Sie in unserer Klimabilanz.
Klappentext
Biografische Anmerkung

What's the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American?in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl.

Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks.

So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I.

So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song?complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree.

But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves.

With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable.



Rebecca F. Kuang is the #1 New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Poppy War trilogy, Babel: An Arcane History, and Yellowface. Her work has won the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, and British Book Awards. A Marshall Scholar, she has an MPhil in Chinese Studies from Cambridge and an MSc in Contemporary Chinese Studies from Oxford. She is now pursuing a PhD in East Asian Languages and Literatures at Yale, where she studies diaspora, contemporary Sinophone literature, and Asian American literature.


deutschsprachige Ausgabe